To all the boys I’ve loved before pt.2 – 10 reasons the book’s better than the movie

Hey Happy Bookworms!

So, I watched it on Netflix!

And now for my first movie review! 😊

Oh! Contains spoilers for the book and the movie!


The movie was cute but because I’d read the book I just kept picking up on things they did differently:

  1. Peter and Josh didn’t have their cute rivalry, apart from that one argument.
  2. They didn’t have the Christmas cookie thing! Which was so cute!
  3. In the book Peter is so much sweeter, like how he stays and helps with the cupcakes.
  4. Also, um…LJ didn’t crash her car in the movie, like yeah, she nearly ran over Peter with it but there was absolutely no crashing of cars!
  5. I think the dad was a lot sweeter in the book because there was the whole bit of him trying to cook Asian food because of their mum but that detail was never added in the movie which I thought was sad and could have easily been included.
  6. The whole road trip wasn’t included and that was a huge turning point for Peter and LJ.
  7. Also, what about the necklace/locket thing (I can’t remember) in Peter’s mum’s shop? Oh! And the doughnuts! Peter does so much more for LJ in the book – it’s so cute!
  8. In the movie, LJ’s friend was not what I thought she’d be like, not quite at least.
  9. Margot got way madder in the book, which I think is more realistic because in the book it shows how close her and Josh are and the family.
  10. Gwen was WAY meaner in the book, it might just be me though because I think animal print is not the best way to be mean and she wore a lot of it in the movie πŸ˜‚

And hey, before you get mad at me, I know films have to be different; it’s a different audience, a movie can’t be as long as a book, actors have their own styles, we all have perceptions of what characters should be like, etc, etc… This is simply my opinion.


I will say though, if you liked the movie – read the book! It’s way better (they usually are!) And if you’ve read the book and want to see the movie, just prepare for it to be different.

What did you think of the movie? What did you think of the book? Which was better?

Talk to me! ❀

Bye!

El xox

10 thoughts on “To all the boys I’ve loved before pt.2 – 10 reasons the book’s better than the movie

  1. Bayance says:

    OMG roadtrips…cupcakes…necklaces…I need to read this book. πŸ˜‚ And aah I hope there’s more Josh involvement in the books. MARGOT WAS HARDLY EVEN MAD IN THE MOVIE! I know I mentioned this in my last post but the ‘you’reinlovewithjosh’ actually killed me. πŸ˜‚ Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maggie says:

    Great review! Aside from the Harry Potter movies (and even they couldn’t stick 100% to the books), it’s hard for movie-makers to do the books any justice. It’s so frustrating to me that my favorite scenes end up being cut out of the films! πŸ˜‚ oh well. They probably look better in my head, anyway! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment