Five feet apart – 10 reasons the book’s better than the movie

Hey Happy bookworms!

Anyone remember this series? *silence* yeah, it’s been a while *gulps* but y’all know I’m not much of a movie-watcher!
Anyway, I just finished the adorable five feet apart so I had to resurrect this series & watch the movie! I watched it with my mum & I’m sure I really annoyed her with my note taking (sorry mum!)

But yeah, the usually: this post is in good humour & of course I understand that the movie can’t include everything that the book does. There will be spoilers about the book & movie because of course, there had to be (sorry!) and also just a lot of rambling from me!


  1. We missed some absolutely gems of lines like “Newsflash. Girls can code” (Like, why wasn’t that in there?!)
  2. We didn’t get Stella singing! Like, we got Abby & Will and we even got a little glimpse of what I assume was the time in the home video bit at the end BUT WE DIDN’T ACTUALLY GET IT!
  3. We didn’t get the whole white flower joke – Stella wears a white rose to their date but it’s never explained that she just took it out a vase 😂 (even though we see the vase & it would’ve been so easy!). Thing is though, this means that in Stella’s treasure hunt later the clue (roses are red…or are they?) means nothing? Oh wait, no, LET’S MAKE IT MEAN BALLOONS?! Like, what?!
  4. Speaking of balloons, they’re yellow in the book but purple in the movie? This isn’t really a better/worse thing just an I wonder why?
  5. We didn’t get any Stella hearts! It’s a thing in the book that she draws hearts around, she drew one on Poe’s whiteboard & her & Will draw them in the condensation in the windows.
  6. Side character story arcs – I mean, they always suck in movies. Actually, we got more Poe in some places which was surprising but we definitely got less in other places:
    • Will & his mum – they have a really bad relationship in the book because of a misunderstanding where Will thinks his mum’s trying to not let him live his life when really she’s just trying to keep him alive. This DOES NOT happen in the movie at all! We also never get to see Will’s mum’s present to him, which is actually really sweet, even though we do see the box & the note. I feel like this would actually be a really confusing moment if you hadn’t read the book or at least mean absolutely nothing.
    • Will & Poe – they have a scene in the hospital’s church where they talk about Poe & his life (basically the context to Poe visiting his parents) and it reveals his money problems (which is also why it makes more sense when he complains about how his partner will get to pay his medical bills with Stella) and also about how his parents were deported. Will also has the typical rich guy response to this but at least he’s self-aware of it & Poe quickly shuts him down.
    • Stella’s parents – we get a little divorce comment from Stella at the beginning (“divorce doesn’t look good on you”) but then suddenly her parents are BFFs?! It’s never explained how they’re suddenly ok now. In the book we have our awkward ‘What colour rug should I have if my bathroom is this colour?’ and also the Barb telling them both off conversation when Stella’s in surgery.
  7. In the book, Stella has serious vacation envy of her friends & this just added another layer to how being in hospital sucks. It also helped her connect to Will & his ‘I want to visit all the places I’ve been in hospital in but properly”
  8. When Stella’s in the water, she wants to go back up but then she sees Patches (her panda) and she goes after him first, because of this she’s in the water too long and she hallucinates and sees & talks to Abby but this whole bit is missed out in the movie! Which sucks because it’s the bit that gives Stella closure that Abby wasn’t in pain when she died. It’s weird though because when Stella goes in for surgery for the first time in the movie she has a small hallucination in Abby’s picture but this isn’t actually in the book.
  9. We got a bit of Stella’s app but we never got the iconic gif of the happy dancing pill bottle emoji!
  10. And finally, we didn’t get the epilogue! I missed the epilogue in the movie, I thought it would have been just a nice way to end it, it shows them both doing the traveling that they’ve always wanted to do.

Despite all that, I really loved the movie – it was totally adorable! And it had some great things too, mainly Will moments like Will’s sassy thumbs up at the beginning, him angry shading (and just all of the art in general) and Will being a ferret kid 😂 It also had such great make up! Like, at the pool scene you could see how skinny they looked with their ribs showing and the dark bags under their eyes and the scars.

So yeah, hope you enjoyed this post! Have you seen the movie? Watched the book? What did you think?

Also, thank you so much to Xandra who nominated me for the most friendly book blogger award – it means a lot 💕

Sign-off

24 thoughts on “Five feet apart – 10 reasons the book’s better than the movie

    • El says:

      Movies always leave out the best bits! Which is honestly why book to series adaptions should become more mainstream – series often do a lot better as they have more time & scope to play with 🤔💞

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Amber says:

    Hey El! ❤️
    I’m sorry I can’t read this “10 Reason’s Why The Book Is Better Than The Movie” because I can’t wait to watch + read Five Feet Apart and spoilers are just a no-no XD
    Apparently ti’s really sad tho… 😦
    Amber xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lais @ The Bookish Skies says:

    i have not read the book for five feet apart, though i’d consider it, after seeing all the differences from your post. i really liked the movie, actually, and i was pleasantly surprised.
    the premise just sounded like it was going to be the fault in our stars – part 2, but it wasn’t at all. first: we didn’t have the cringe-y, edgy quotes from tfios, which is good, but the characters were still fun and unique. the acting was another surprise, since i’ve never been the biggest fan of cole sprouse (is that cole sprouse or dylan sprouse? i never know lol). but he definitely made me emotional during a few scenes!
    the only thing that bothered me was that they killed of their only queer and POC character. plus, after reading about his family, i was really mad that this was so poorly addressed in the movie, because it would’ve made his death even more emotional, thinking that his parents would never be able to officially say goodbye to him.
    also, i do believe the epilogue was filmed, but never included in the movie? i watched this alternative ending scene on youtube these days, and it’s where the poster of the movie it’s taken from, so i believe that was supposed to be the epilogue, but they ended up never including it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • El says:

      I agree, I really think it was a better fault in our stars but they could have done so much better with the side characters, especially Po – I think that it was good he died because it reminded everyone that the disease does cause deaths & the characters aren’t immune but this moment would have meant so much more if we’d got more backstory (which they do give in the book so I definitely think it’s worth a read if you enjoyed the movie + it’s pretty short)
      I don’t know either but I think it’s Cole? Maybe? 😂
      Ah *googling* ok, I think I watched it but with rubbish audio quality 😂 It’s not the same as the book & I really wish they’d included the original epilogue because it showed both characters moving on & traveling like they’d always wanted, which was sweet 🙂
      Thanks for the comment! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gabbyisreadingnow says:

    I haven’t read or watched Five feet Apart, but now I definitely plan on it! Loved this post, and congrats on the most friendly book blogger award!🎉💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aditi says:

    I haven’t read or seen Five Feet Apart, but I can tell that the book seems much better than the movie! Literally I hate it when movie adaptations just FORGET to add all the important bits and omit the coolest lines urghhh. I could rant about how bad the Percy Jackson movie adaptations were for a whole day, but I’ll spare your sanity right now 😂
    Great post! Going on my TBR as soon as I open Goodreads and… hopefully remember the title!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • El says:

      You know sometimes I question wether it’s better to watch the movie first (*gasps*) just because then you get to have the enhanced experience later so it only gets better but then I’m like ‘but making fun of movies is so much fun!’ Which is totally true too 😂 because who doesn’t like shouting bookworm thoughts at the movie stars (that can DEFINITELY hear you) 😂
      The book was a better version of the fault in my stars (sorry John Green!) in my opinion but definitely bring tissues (boxes & boxes, basically buy out the whole store) 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie @ Me and Ink says:

    I think it is always interesting to see the transition from book to movie and although I know the movies can’t include everything it is a shame when it cuts stuff out as it was so good in the book!!
    Side character arcs do suck in movies a lot of the time– they always focus on the main characters!!
    I’m glad you enjoyed the movie though– I hadn’t really heard what people thought about it so I’m glad to hear it was good!! 🙂 I haven’t seen it (but I didn’t mind getting spoiled so I carried on reading 😂) but after you said you enjoyed it I might!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • El says:

      Sometimes the things they change are so stupid though (like, why change the colour of the balloons? Did the party shop just not have yellow ones? 😂)
      I know! I haven’t heard anyone else talk about it so I was questioning whether it was actually out yet or not!
      I hope you enjoy it when you see it! It was still really emotional even though I knew what was gonna happen because of the book so I don’t think I ruined it that much! 😝

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sophie @ Me and Ink says:

        Yes that is so true– just small changes that seem unnecessary!! Yeah maybe the shops didn’t have yellow ones 😂😂
        Haha people are just keeping quiet about it 😂
        Thank you– it was good that it was to able to capture emotions even though you knew what was going to happen. I might need to get my tissues!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment